How did you hear about us?

March 11, 2010 at 11:53 pm (Around Town)

Branding; Marketing and Pr. These techniques are the commonly known ways for a business to earn (hopefully positive) recognition and excel in their market. Geico’s Gecko put their name on the map. “Redbull gives you wingscaught the eye of the energy drinker. I’ll never forget the Budweiser frogs. But, while traditional marketing and PR catches the customer’s eye, what makes them a lifelong member of the family?

Marketing and Branding is vital to a company’s visibility, but customers look for more than a catchy song. They look for a positive experience at a coffee shop, a smiling face at the counter of the clothing store and a handyman that goes out of their way to get the job done. To find this service, the paperless land of today’s technology-inclined world unfolds a new retro type of marketing. Yelp (www.yelp.com) calls it “Real Reviews by Real People.” Who would you trust more; a business listing their rankings or 20 consumers providing a first-hand account of their experience with the product or service? I enjoy looking at the newest restaurant’s advertising, but before I pick up my fork, I’m going to read what others have to say. The two topics of self-reviewing on the shelf today will be my favorite stop for reviews, Yelp and the ever so popular trend of blogging.

Yelp it from the rooftops.

I’ve joined the Yelp bandwagon. How? The good old fashioned way… word of mouth.  My friend Alice swears by it and since I trust her, I had to check it out. Now I might need to join Yelp Addicts Anonymous. Before I go on, let me explain Yelp. Yelp’s philosophy is simple. Real people provide real reviews. Review what you want. Did you like your service and food at Chelsea’s Kitchen . Yelp it and tell others they need to visit immediately. Did you visit a new boutique in town and discover the best deals since the invention of Ebay? Yelp it out! Tell others. On the flip side, real people provide REAL reviews. Real reviews mean honest reviews. Yelp doesn’t discriminate. If you had a bad experience, you can Yelp it and warn others.  It not only helps the consumer but it might even help the business in the long run. I could Yelp about Yelp all day long, but instead, I suggest you check out their site (www.yelp.com). Before you know it, you’ll be visiting spots around town and itching to just get home and Yelp about it!

Yelp doesn’t just offer reviews. They share:

–    Events around town

–    Special invite-only events

–    Social Networking capabilities

–    Like a Yelper? Follow them and read all their reviews.

Top five reasons to use Yelp

  • You can find services with great customer service. Yelpers told me about a Handyman. They gave him such high reviews I had to check him out. I approve. http://www.yelp.com/biz/diamond-d-handyman-phoenix
  • Your opinion can FINALLY be heard and appreciated.
  • Itching to be a reporter around town? Until Lifestyle magazine calls you, practice your writing skills on Yelp.
  • Looking for something to do? Yelp will tell you.

So, my advice is this. If you need Help, just Yelp.

Blogs to Blog About

Yes, the blogging trend started years ago, but that doesn’t mean it’s losing its shape for providing a great resource of important information. I live for local blogs, fashion blogs, crafting blogs, etc. Here, others share their super secret tips you’d almost pay money for.

Check out some of my favorite blogs:

Valley Girl – Check this blog daily for the latest tips about excitement around town. http://www.arizonafoothillsmagazine.com/valleygirlblog/

Jaime RoseWell-known AZ Central (www.azcentral.com) columnist knows all the ins and outs of the latest trends, local tips and more. I read her column daily. http://www.azcentral.com/members/Blog/JaimeeRose

Downtown Phoenix Journal http://www.downtownphoenixjournal.com/ Not so much a blog, but if you live in Phoenix, it’s a great way to stay up-to-date with happenings around town.

City Girl Blog Emily Style’s “City Life and Adventures” – I heart SF. As a Nor Cal girl living in the desert, I read about Emily’s latest adventures in my favorite city by the bay http://emilystyle.blogspot.com/

Those with a sweet tooth, beware. After reading this delicious blog you’ll want to run to the store and make these tasty treats yourself. http://milkeggschocolate.blogspot.com/

House Designer’s Haven http://vivafullhouse.blogspot.com/ I want my place to look like every picture in her blog.

Elements of Style Great tips and visuals for furnishings. I’d take this home style too. http://www.elementsofstyleblog.com/

Walking down the Aisle? Dreaming of doing so one day? Click here and you’ll have your wedding planned in no time. http://100layercake.com/blog/

Looking for a blog? Check out http://www.blogcatalog.com/. It’s your one stop shop for the best blogs in town.

1 Comment

  1. Alice A. said,

    Great post, Lindsey! Yelp is moving toward world domination (kind of) and I know we appreciate your nod in the Phoenix area.

    As for awesome blogs, I thought I’d throw out a few of my own that I read regularly. I’m not sure if this is a growing trend in Phx, but in San Francisco, you’re hard pressed to find someone who isn’t conscious of what they’re eating, where it comes from, and how it’s cooked. I am part of a foodie book club with the authors of the two following blogs – I encourage everyone to take a peak!

    -www.FarmandaFryingPan.com
    and,
    http://www.mygardenplate.com/

Leave a Reply

